Teacher of the Year Small Logo Teacher of the Year Logo

Congratulations, Dorothy Sawyer!

Previous Winners


James R. Erickson

Redmond Senior High


High Desert

James R. Erickson

  • School: Redmond Senior High

Rick Wetherell

North Bend High School

North Bend

South Coast

Rick Wetherell

  • School: North Bend High School

Evelyn Mae Andrews

Tualatin Elementary School


NW Regional

Evelyn Mae Andrews

  • School: Tualatin Elementary School

How Nominations Work

Nominate a Teacher icon


Nominate a Teacher

Know a great teacher? Fill out the nomination form and tell us what makes them exceptional!

Teacher Applications icon


Teacher Applications

We notify qualifying nominees and invite them to apply for Teacher of the Year.

Regional Winner Selected icon


Regional Winner Selected

Each of Oregon’s 19 Education Service Districts review applications from their area and choose a winner for their region.

Statewide Winner Selected icon


Statewide Winner Selected

Regional applications will be reviewed by a diverse panel of education advocates and finalists will be interviewed by department staff and recommended to the director for selection.

Nominations for 2023 Teacher of the Year have closed. Check back to nominate for 2024!