Teacher of the Year Small Logo Teacher of the Year Logo

Congratulations, Verne Martin!

Previous Winners


John A. Duncan

Blossom Gulch Elementary and Marshfield Junior High Schools

Coos Bay

South Coast

John A. Duncan

  • School: Blossom Gulch Elementary and Marshfield Junior High Schools

Carlton Bryson

Benson High School



Carlton Bryson

  • School: Benson High School

Alene Nelson

Lake Oswego Junior High School

Lake Oswego


Alene Nelson

  • School: Lake Oswego Junior High School

How Nominations Work

Nominate a Teacher icon


Nominate a Teacher

Know a great teacher? Fill out the nomination form and tell us what makes them exceptional!

Teacher Applications icon


Teacher Applications

We notify qualifying nominees and invite them to apply for Teacher of the Year.

Regional Winner Selected icon


Regional Winner Selected

Each of Oregon’s 19 Education Service Districts review applications from their area and choose a winner for their region.

Statewide Winner Selected icon


Statewide Winner Selected

Regional applications will be reviewed by a diverse panel of education advocates and finalists will be interviewed by department staff and recommended to the director for selection.

Nominations for 2023 Teacher of the Year have closed. Check back to nominate for 2024!